On Sale

Promontory 2016 (75 cl)
Cabernet Sauvignon
U.S.A

Average critic rating: 99.2

Robert Parker: 100  Dunnuck : 100   Suckling : 100 Jeff Leve : 100  Vinous: 99
Falstaff: 99 Decanter: 98 Jancis Robinson: 18.5

 

An intense, deep, muscular wine with a beautiful minerality, firm, ripe and long tannins and an incredible complexity.
Black cherries, blueberries, blackberries, black currants, chocolate, licorice and cedar burst from the glass and are accompanied by flavors of wet and gravelly earth, dried mushrooms, black truffles to which are added sage, graphite and mint.
The wine is balanced, full-bodied and has a magnificent finish that never ends.

To be enjoyed around a rack of lamb with thyme.

 

Robert Parker: 100/100 

Deep garnet purple, the 2016 Promontory emerges from the glass with bold flavors of black cherry, blueberry pie and licorice, leading to a core of creme de cassis, dark chocolate, black earth and truffle emerging slowly, as well as touches of cumin seed, moss bark and beef drip. The full-bodied palate is densely packed with muscular fruit, backed by a rock-solid structure, with very firm, deliciously ripe grainy tannins and fantastic tension. The finish is both powerful and beautifully nuanced, hedonistic and cerebrally rewarding. This singularly stunning expression of Napa Valley will be released by the estate in 2021.

Lisa Perroty Brown - 4 Janvier 2021
Maturity: 2024-2065

 

Jeb Dunnuck: 100/100

The 2016 Domaine is pure perfection and a legend in the making. Boasting incredible purity of fruit as well as powerful notes of crème de cassis, gritty earth, cedar pencil and chocolate, it has the fresher, pure and classic style of this great vintage at the fore. . With its full-bodied richness and depth, it has a majestic stature and quality almost akin to that of Château Latour. It should experience a similar evolution, requiring 7-8 years to reach its peak and evolve for 20-30 years or more.

Jeb Dunnuck – January 27, 2021
Maturity: 2028 - 2060

  

James Suckling : 100/100

I tasted it for the first time last year and it only got better. The nose is breathtaking. Purity with incredible complexity, showing dried mushrooms, blackberries, currants and cedar. A bit of damp earth. Dense, layered blackberries and blueberries. Full-bodied and long, with wonderful depth and intensity. The tannins are ultra long. The black truffle makes its appearance. I love the length, finesse and concentration. Released in 2022.

James Suckling : 2 Juin 2021

 

Jeff Leve: 100/100

That's what a stunning Cabernet Sauvignon is. Dark garnet in color, black and blue fruits, bay leaf, smoke, cherries and flowers form a perfect aromatic ensemble. Incredibly precise and silky fruit with a purity almost impossible to achieve. The flawless finish crosses the 60 second mark and continues with layers of red, black and blue fruits. It's impossible not to want to take another sip, to make sure what you just tasted was real, and another sip again, just to be able to experience it all over again. The wine was aged for 28 months in Austrian oak barrels.

Jeff Leve: March 2, 2021

 

Vinous : 99/100

The 2016 Promontory is just as magnificent as it always has been. A wine of dimension and breadth, the 2016 is so captivating in the way it engages all the senses.
Unlike many Napa Valley Cabernets, Promontory, especially in structured years like 2016, really benefits from aeration.
This time brings out striking floral and mineral nuances while releasing the fruit as the tannins gently melt. Notes of sage, lavender, graphite and mint add sparkle to this beautifully sculpted and taut Cabernet Sauvignon. What a wine!    


Antonio Galloni - October 2021
Maturity: 2026-2041

 

Falstaff : 99/100

A hint of lichen, moss and evergreen clings to the dark fruit, almost with citrus intensity. This fragrance also informs the palate which seems compact, like a ball, contained, seamless. The ripe fruits are succulent and tender, with a crushed blackberry character. The tannins are fine, the freshness invades the wine. It is firm, ripe, tense, fresh, dense, elegant, aromatic. It is concentrated and elegant.

Peter Moser & Anne Krebiehl MW - 26 April 2022
 

Decanter : 98/100

Beautiful vivid purple color in the glass. Sweet scent of blackcurrant and milk chocolate - the smell is so welcoming and appealing. This wine is great right from the start - it has intensity of taste, richness, depth - with a really dark and spicy undertone, but those plush tannins that are soft, slightly chewy and delicate, yet filling in the mouth. You can feel the vinification at work, with the impression that this wine has been well treated and worked with care to obtain such harmonious tannins and, at the same time, an excellent expression of the fruit. It's a full but really refined wine, still structured and expansive, with still a lot of life to give. I like the feeling one has when tasting this wine, it is heavy without a doubt, powerful but so well enveloped that one receives everything one wants to sit down and reflect slowly. A contemplative wine, but a wine to be fully savored.

Georgina Hindle – February 17, 2022
Maturity: 2030-2050

 

Jancis Robinson: 18.5 / 20

Sophisticated nose, lots of breadth and life. Lots of extract and dry, appetizing tannins (but not the richness, sweetness and roundness of Harlan).

Jancis Robinson: May 6, 2020
Maturity: 2023-2037

Sale price

Regular price 1.180,00 €
( / )
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
Click here to be notified by email when Promontory 2016 (75 cl)
Cabernet Sauvignon
U.S.A
becomes available.

Product reviews

Promotion

Promontory 2016 (75 cl)
Cabernet Sauvignon
U.S.A

Note moyenne des critiques : 99.2

Robert Parker: 100  Dunnuck : 100   Suckling : 100 Jeff Leve : 100  Vinous: 99
Falstaff : 99  Decanter : 98  Jancis Robinson : 18,5
 

Un vin intense, profond, musclé avec une belle minéralité ,des tanins fermes, murs et longs et une incroyable complexité.
Cerise noire, Myrtille, Mûres, Cassis, chocolat, réglisse et cèdre jaillissent du verre et sont accompagnés de saveurs de terre humide et graveleuse, de champignons secs, truffe noire auxquelles s'ajoutent la sauge, le graphite et la menthe.
Le vin est équilibré, corsé et présente une magnifique finale qui n'en finit plus.

A déguster autour d'un carré d'agneau au thym.

 

Robert Parker: 100/100 

D'un pourpre grenat profond, le Promontory 2016 sort du verre avec des parfums audacieux de cerise noire, de tarte aux myrtilles et de réglisse, menant à un noyau de crème de cassis, de chocolat noir, de terre noire et de truffe qui émerge lentement, ainsi qu'à des touches de graine de cumin, d'écorce de mousse et d'égouttement de bœuf. La bouche corsée est densément remplie de fruits musclés, soutenus par une structure solide comme le roc, avec des tanins granuleux très fermes, délicieusement mûrs et une tension fantastique. La finale est à la fois puissante et magnifiquement nuancée, hédonique et cérébralement gratifiante. Cette expression singulièrement étonnante de la Napa Valley sera commercialisée par le domaine en 2021.

Lisa Perroty Brown - 4 Janvier 2021
Maturité : 2024-2065


Jeb Dunnuck : 100/100

Le Domaine 2016 est une pure perfection et une légende en devenir. Doté d'une incroyable pureté de fruit ainsi que de puissantes notes de crème de cassis, de terre graveleuse, de crayon de cèdre et de chocolat, il a le style plus frais, pur et classique de ce grand millésime à l'avant-plan. Avec sa richesse et sa profondeur corsées, il a une stature et une qualité majestueuse presque semblables à celles du Château Latour. Il devrait connaître une évolution similaire, nécessitant 7 à 8 ans pour atteindre son apogée et évoluer pendant 20 à 30 ans ou plus.

Jeb Dunnuck - 27 Janvier 2021
Maturité : 2028 - 2060

  

James Suckling : 100/100

Je l'ai goûté pour la première fois l'année dernière et il n'a fait que s'améliorer. Le nez est à couper le souffle. Pureté avec une incroyable complexité, montrant des champignons secs, des mûres, des groseilles et du cèdre. Un peu de terre humide. Mûres et myrtilles denses et stratifiées. Corsé et long, avec une profondeur et une intensité magnifiques. Les tannins sont ultra longs. La truffe noire fait son apparition. J'adore la longueur, la finesse et la concentration. Sortie en 2022.

James Suckling : 2 Juin 2021

 

Jeff Leve : 100/100

Voilà ce qu'est un Cabernet Sauvignon époustouflant. De couleur grenat foncé, les fruits noirs et bleus, la feuille de laurier, la fumée, les cerises et les fleurs forment un ensemble aromatique parfait. Des fruits incroyablement précis et soyeux avec une pureté presque impossible à atteindre. La finale sans faille franchit la barre des 60 secondes et se poursuit avec des couches de fruits rouges, noirs et bleus. Il est impossible de ne pas vouloir prendre une autre gorgée, pour s'assurer que ce que vous venez de goûter était réel, et une autre gorgée encore, juste pour pouvoir en faire l'expérience encore une fois. Le vin a été élevé pendant 28 mois dans des foudres en chêne autrichien.

Jeff Leve : 2 Mars 2021

 

Vinous : 99/100

Le Promontory 2016 est tout aussi magnifique qu'il l'a toujours été. Un vin de dimension et d'ampleur, le 2016 est si captivant dans sa façon d'éveiller tous les sens.
Contrairement à de nombreux cabernets de la vallée de Napa, le Promontory, surtout dans les années structurées comme 2016, bénéficie vraiment de l'aération.
Ce temps fait ressortir des nuances florales et minérales saisissantes tout en libérant les fruits tandis que les tannins se fondent doucement. Des notes de sauge, de lavande, de graphite et de menthe donnent de l'éclat à ce magnifique cabernet sauvignon sculpté et tendu. Quel vin !    


Antonio Galloni - Octobre 2021
Maturité : 2026-2041

 

Falstaff : 99/100

Un soupçon de lichen, de mousse et de conifère s'accroche aux fruits noirs, presque avec une intensité d'agrume. Ce parfum informe également le palais qui semble compact, comme une balle, contenu, sans couture. Les fruits mûrs sont succulents et fondants, avec un caractère de mûre écrasée. Les tanins sont fins, la fraîcheur envahit le vin. Il est ferme, mûr, tendu, frais, dense, élégant, aromatique. Il est concentré et élégant.

Peter Moser & Anne Krebiehl MW - 26 Avril 2022

Decanter : 98/100

Belle couleur pourpre vive dans le verre. Doux parfum de cassis et de chocolat au lait - l'odeur est si accueillante et attrayante. Ce vin est excellent dès le début - il a une intensité de goût, une richesse, une profondeur - avec un fond vraiment sombre et épicé, mais ces tannins en peluche qui sont doux, légèrement mâchus et délicats, tout en remplissant la bouche. Vous pouvez sentir la vinification à l'œuvre, avec l'impression que ce vin a été bien traité et travaillé avec soin pour obtenir des tanins aussi harmonieux et, en même temps, une excellente expression du fruit. C'est un vin plein mais vraiment raffiné, toujours structuré et expansif, avec encore beaucoup de vie à donner. J'aime la sensation que l'on a en dégustant ce vin, il est lourd sans aucun doute, puissant mais si bien enveloppé que l'on reçoit tout ce que l'on a envie de s'asseoir et de réfléchir lentement. Un vin contemplatif, mais un vin à savourer pleinement.

Georgina Hindle - 17 Février 2022
Maturité : 2030-2050

 

Jancis Robinson : 18,5/20

Nez sophistiqué, beaucoup d'ampleur et de vie. Beaucoup d'extrait et des tannins secs et appétissants (mais pas la richesse, la douceur et la rondeur du Harlan).

Jancis Robinson : 6 Mai 2020
Maturité : 2023-2037

Prix réduit

1.180,00 €

Prix régulier 999,00 €
( / )
Taxes incluses. Frais d'expédition calculés lors du passage en caisse.
Cliquez ici pour être averti par email lorsque Promontory 2016 (75 cl)
Cabernet Sauvignon
U.S.A
sera disponible.

Avis sur le produit