On Sale

Cheval des Andes 2016 (75 cl)
Malbec
Cabernet Sauvignon
Argentina

Average review score: 96,4

Parker : 97+   Vinous : 95   Suckling : 99   Tim Atkin : 97   Jancis Robinson : 17,5+  Desorchados : 97   Decanter : 93

We are dealing with a magnificent Malbec which takes its place on the podium of the best South American wines.
In a cool 2016, we obtain an elegant, refined, nuanced, harmonious and sophisticated wine. To fully benefit from it, do not hesitate to decant it for several hours in order to give it the opportunity to blossom.
On the nose: raspberry, lavender, violet, graphite, toasted, spices are in harmony.

The palate, medium bodied, is on very slightly acidulous red fruits, accompanied by a nice salinity. The wine is smooth, full and long with good depth and silky tannins.

Harmony, elegance and sophistication are the key words.     

 

To taste with game birds, lamb shanks or prime rib.

 

Robert Parker : 97+/100 

The new vintage that will be marketed in September 2019 is the 2016 Cheval des Andes, which was harvested from a very unusual year, fresher than average and with an exceptional amount of rain (around 600 liters), but the wine has reached an admirable freshness. It has an alcohol level of 13.9% and its nose is more fruity, subtle and elegant, a little closed at the start, shy and subtle. They made great adjustments in the aging, the wine was aged in barrels of 400 liters at 30 or 40% and only 40% of new wood. This is 58% Malbec (around 50/50 from Luján and Valle de Uco, where they have 15 hectares in Altamira), 37% Cabernet Sauvignon and 5% Petit Verdot. It is less structured than the 2015, but there is more tension; it is a wine that should develop beautifully in the bottle. It is a vintage of precision and with great aging potential. I think this wine is the most elegant produced so far. Well done ! 64,000 bottles produced

Luis Gutiérrez - October 31, 2019
Maturity: 2020-2035

 

Vinous : 95/100 

Dark and shiny ruby red. Wild and musky scents and flavors of black raspberry, black pepper, olive tapenade, licorice and stony salinity. Fluffy, tasty and smooth; a Malbec-based blend that coats the mouth and offers depth and superb presence in the mouth. As concentrated as this wine is, it is medium bodied in this year's fresher style, but also remarkably nuanced and harmonious from the start, imparting a sense of restrained sweetness. The finish is extremely long and smooth, with noble tannins and fullness that saturate the palate. By the way, with this year 2016, the Cheval des Andes is now entirely made with fruits of the property, coming from their properties of La Compuertas and Altamira. (aged in 70% new oak) 

Stephan Tanzer - September 2019
Maturity: 2020 - 2033

 

James Suckling : 99/100

Super refined and beautiful, with flowers, spices, dried fruits and hints of stone. Medium to full body with very fine tannins and a superb finish. Shows a lot of finesse and depth. Tasty character, as always, but under control. Drink now in 2022.    

James Suckling - March 10, 2020

 

Tim Atkin : 97/100

The percentage of Cabernet Sauvignon (37%) is one of the highest ever reached at Cheval, blended with Malbec and 5% of Petit Verdot in this fresh wine, and the most European of vintages. The result is a wonderfully harmonious wine that is perhaps the best vintage ever produced by this French bodega. Superb.

Tim atkin
Maturity: 2022 - 2035   

 

Jancis Robinson : 17.5 + / 20

58% Malbec, 37% Cabernet Sauvignon, 5% Petit Verdot, all from the "great terroirs" of Las Compuertas and La Consulta. An atypical vintage in Mendoza, marked by El Niño, which led to heavy rains between October and December. If the spring was wet, rainy and cooler than usual, the summer was hot, especially in January and February. These conditions led to a drop in yields, especially for the estate's Malbec. It also resulted in berries that were smaller than normal, rich and concentrated. Harvest from March 23 to April 25. Apparently the Petit Verdot in the mix could be phased out as it can be a bit rustic. When Pierre-Olivier Clouet (technical director of Cheval Blanc) left the company in 2011, he did not think that the quality was up to the reputation of Cheval, so from 2013, new protocols were implemented for increase longevity and elegance. This is the first vintage they are really proud of. Only about two thirds of new wood: a few Bordeaux barrels and others larger. And they pick much earlier than most of their neighbors.
They look more evolved than Catena wines. Dark garnet. Manages to be both fresh and toasty on the nose. Very round and approachable, with quite subtle tannins and some very pleasant salinity. Energy too. We can see a certain Cheval quality. Quite sophisticated, it has an effect. Pretty rather than massive

Jancis Robinson - September 18, 2019
Maturity: 2019 - 2028     

 

Desorchados : 97/100

The 2016 harvest is the freshest of the past decade and possibly the rainiest. This had a great impact on the freshness, acidity and tannins of the fruit, which are a bit more pronounced than usual. The harvest conditions may have accelerated the evolution of this wine towards a fresher character. This year's blend is made up of 58% Malbec, 37% Cabernet Sauvignon and 5% Petit Verdot. The effect of the year is felt very strongly in the fruity character, in the acid red fruits. This was gradually becoming evident, especially in the 2015 harvest. Here is a Cheval with a less robust body, but with fresher and clearer red fruit. We should add a more generous watering regimen to the equation, preventing the plant from being stressed and therefore getting more red berries. It started in 2015 and had a powerful impact here too. But whatever the freshness, this 2016 needs time in the bottle. Start by uncorking your first bottles in five years.

Maturity: from 2024

 

Decanter : 93/100

 An atypical vintage in Mendoza marked by El Niño. The 2016 is also produced by the Cheval-Blanc team. Once again, the nose suggests a bouquet of Rhône or Syrah from the north. Notes of raspberry, graphite, lavender and al dente violet. Laser-like tannins, a perfectly balanced texture, and an impressive and dense wine raised by a superb tannic structure and great freshness. A vertical wine, admirably elaborated. Will age for 15 years. 

Yohan Castaing - September 2, 2019
Maturity: 2025-2055

Pinot Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore and dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur. Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non proident, sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollit anim id est laborum. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore and dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur. Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non proident, sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollit anim id est laborum. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore and dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur. Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non proident, sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollit anim id est laborum. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore and dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur. Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non proident, sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollit anim id est laborum. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore and dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur. Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non proident, sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollit anim id est laborum. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore and dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur. Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non proident, sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollit anim id est laborum. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore and dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur. Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non proident, sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollit anim id est laborum. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore and dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur. Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non proident, sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollit anim id est laborum. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore and dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur. Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non proident, sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollit anim id est laborum. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore and dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur. Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non proident, sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollit anim id est laborum. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore and dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur. Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non proident, sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollit anim id est laborum. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore and dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur. Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non proident, sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollit anim id est laborum.
Sale price

Regular price 79,90 €
( / )
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
Click here to be notified by email when Cheval des Andes 2016 (75 cl)
Malbec
Cabernet Sauvignon
Argentina
becomes available.

Product reviews

Promotion

Cheval des Andes 2016 (75 cl)
Malbec
Cabernet-Sauvignon
Argentine

Note moyenne des critiques : 96,4

Parker : 97+   Vinous : 95   Suckling : 99   Tim Atkin : 97   Jancis Robinson : 17,5+  Desorchados : 97   Decanter : 93

On a affaire à un magnifique Malbec qui prend place sur le podium des meilleurs vins sud américains.
Dans une année 2016 fraiche, on obtient un vin élégant, raffiné, nuancé, harmonieux et sophistiqué. Pour en profiter pleinement, il ne faut pas hésiter à le décanter plusieurs heures afin de lui donner la possibilité de s'épanouir.
Au nez : framboise, lavande , violette, graphite, grillé, épices sont en harmonie.
La bouche, moyennement corsée est sur les fruits rouges très légèrement acidulés, assortis d'une belle salinité. Le vin est doux, ample et long avec une belle profondeur et des tanins de soie.

Harmonie, élégance et sophistication sont les maitres mots.     

 

A déguster avec un gibier à plume, un jarret d'agneau ou une côte de bœuf.

 

Robert Parker : 97+/100 

Le nouveau millésime qui sera commercialisé en septembre 2019 est le Cheval des Andes 2016, qui a été récolté à partir d'une année tout à fait inhabituelle, plus fraîche que la moyenne et avec une quantité de pluie exceptionnelle (environ 600 litres), mais le vin a atteint une fraîcheur admirable. Il a un taux d'alcool de 13,9 % et son nez est plus fruité, subtil et élégant, un peu fermé au début, timide et subtil. Ils ont fait de grands ajustements dans l'élevage, le vin a été élevé dans des barriques de 400 litres à 30 ou 40 % et seulement 40 % de bois neuf. Il s'agit de 58% de Malbec (environ 50/50 de Luján et de Valle de Uco, où ils ont 15 hectares à Altamira), 37% de Cabernet Sauvignon et 5% de Petit Verdot. Il est moins structuré que le 2015, mais il y a plus de tension ; c'est un vin qui devrait se développer magnifiquement en bouteille. C'est un millésime de précision et avec un grand potentiel de vieillissement. Je pense que ce vin est le plus élégant produit jusqu'à présent. Bravo ! 64 000 bouteilles produites

Luis Gutiérrez - 31 octobre 2019
Maturité : 2020-2035

 

Vinous: 95/100 

Rouge-rubis foncé et brillant. Parfums sauvages et musqués et saveurs de framboise noire, de poivre noir, de tapenade d'olive, de réglisse et salinité pierreuse. Pelucheux, savoureux et onctueux ; un mélange à base de Malbec qui enrobe la bouche et qui offre une profondeur et une superbe présence en bouche. Aussi concentré que soit ce vin, il est moyennement corsé dans le style de cette année plus fraîche, mais aussi remarquablement nuancé et harmonieux dès le départ, communiquant une impression de douceur retenue. La finale est extrêmement longue et sans aspérités, avec des tanins nobles et une ampleur qui saturent le palais. Soit dit en passant, avec cette année 2016, le Cheval des Andes est désormais entièrement fabriqué avec des fruits de la propriété, provenant de leurs propriétés de La Compuertas et d'Altamira. (vieilli dans 70% de chêne neuf) 

Stephan Tanzer - septembre 2019
Maturité : 2020 - 2033

 

James Suckling : 99/100

Super raffiné et beau, avec des fleurs, des épices, des fruits secs et des notes de pierre. Corps moyen à plein avec des tanins très fins et une superbe finale. Montre beaucoup de finesse et de profondeur. Caractère savoureux, comme toujours, mais sous contrôle. À boire en 2022.    

James Suckling -10 mars 2020

 

Tim Atkin : 97/100

Le pourcentage de Cabernet Sauvignon (37%) est l'un des plus élevés jamais atteint à Cheval, assemblé avec du Malbec et 5% de Petit Verdot dans ce vin frais, et le plus européen des millésimes. Le résultat est un vin merveilleusement harmonieux qui est peut-être le meilleur millésime jamais produit par cette bodega française. Superbe.

Tim Atkin
Maturité : 2022 - 2035   

 

Jancis Robinson: 17,5+/20

58% de Malbec, 37% de Cabernet Sauvignon, 5% de Petit Verdot, tous issus des "grands terroirs" de Las Compuertas et de La Consulta. Un millésime atypique à Mendoza, marqué par El Niño, qui a entraîné de fortes pluies entre octobre et décembre. Si le printemps a été humide, pluvieux et plus frais que d'habitude, l'été a été chaud, notamment en janvier et février. Ces conditions ont entraîné une baisse des rendements, en particulier pour le Malbec du domaine. Cela a également entraîné des baies plus petites que la normale, riches et concentrées. Récolte du 23 mars au 25 avril. Apparemment, le Petit Verdot dans le mélange pourrait être éliminé progressivement car il peut être un peu rustique. Lorsque Pierre-Olivier Clouet (directeur technique de Cheval Blanc) a quitté l'entreprise en 2011, il ne pensait pas que la qualité était à la hauteur de la réputation de Cheval, alors à partir de 2013, de nouveaux protocoles ont été instaurés pour augmenter la longévité et l'élégance. C'est le premier millésime dont ils sont vraiment fiers. Seulement environ deux tiers de bois neuf : quelques barriques bordelaises et d'autres plus grandes. Et ils cueillent beaucoup plus tôt que la plupart de leurs voisins.
Ils ont l'air plus évolués que les vins de Catena. Grenat foncé. Réussit à être à la fois frais et grillé au nez. Très rond et approchable, avec des tanins assez subtils et une certaine salinité bien agréable. Energie aussi. On peut voir une certaine qualité Cheval. Assez sophistiqué, il fait de l'effet. Joli plutôt que massif

Jancis Robinson - 18 Septembre 2019
Maturité : 2019 - 2028     

 

Desorchados: 97/100

La récolte de 2016 est la plus fraîche de la dernière décennie et probablement la plus pluvieuse. Cela a eu un grand impact sur la fraîcheur, l'acidité et les tanins du fruit, qui sont un peu plus prononcés que d'habitude. Les conditions de récolte ont peut-être accéléré l'évolution de ce vin vers un caractère plus frais. L'assemblage de cette année est composé de 58% de Malbec, 37% de Cabernet Sauvignon et 5% de Petit Verdot. L'effet de l'année se fait sentir très fortement dans le caractère fruité, dans les fruits rouges acides. Cela devenait progressivement évident, surtout lors de la récolte de 2015. Voici un Cheval avec un corps moins charpenté, mais avec un fruit rouge plus frais et plus clair. Nous devrions ajouter à l'équation un régime d'arrosage plus généreux, empêchant la plante d'être stressée et donc d'obtenir plus de fruits rouges. Cela a commencé en 2015 et a eu un impact puissant ici aussi. Mais quelle que soit cette fraîcheur, ce 2016 a besoin de temps en bouteille. Commencez par déboucher vos premières bouteilles dans cinq ans.

Maturité : à partir de 2024

 

Decanter : 93/100

 Un millésime atypique à Mendoza marqué par El Niño. Le 2016 est également réalisé par l'équipe Cheval-Blanc. Une fois de plus, le nez suggère un bouquet de Rhône ou de Syrah du nord. Des notes de framboise, de graphite, de lavande et de violette al dente. Des tanins de type laser, une texture parfaitement équilibrée, et un vin impressionnant et dense élevé par une superbe structure tannique et une grande fraîcheur. Un vin vertical, admirablement élaboré. Vieillira pendant 15 ans. 

Yohan Castaing - 2 septembre 2019
Maturité : 2025-2055

Pinot Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur. Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non proident, sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollit anim id est laborum. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur. Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non proident, sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollit anim id est laborum. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet Lorem ipsum dolor sit do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur. Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non proident, sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollit anim id est laborum. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur. Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non proident, sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollit anim id est laborum. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod nulla pariatur. Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non proident, sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollit anim id est laborum. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur. Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non proident, sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollit anim id est laborum. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur. Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non proident, sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollit anim id est laborum.
Prix réduit

Prix régulier 79,90 €
( / )
Taxes incluses. Frais d'expédition calculés lors du passage en caisse.
Cliquez ici pour être averti par email lorsque Cheval des Andes 2016 (75 cl)
Malbec
Cabernet-Sauvignon
Argentine
sera disponible.

Avis sur le produit