On Sale

Cayuse Cailloux 2017 (75 cl)
Syrah
USA

Average review score: 96

Robert Parker: 96  Vinous: 95+  Dunnuck : 97 Wine Spectator: 94 Suckling: 97
 

An intense, deep, structured wine with beautiful minerality, silky tannins and incredible complexity.
Black fruits, ripe raspberries, floral aromas of rose, violet and lavender spring from the glass and are accompanied by flavors of smoke, game, bacon, olive tapenade, licorice, pepper and dried earth.
The wine is balanced, very rich without being too powerful and has a very attractive long finish.

To taste around a rack of lamb with thyme.

 

Robert Parker: 96/100 

The 2017 Syrah Cailloux Vineyard starts off generous and inked in the glass, with dark fruit in the middle and floral aromas of violet and lavender followed by a sweet smoky with layers of olive tapenade and dust-covered black raspberry. Full-bodied, Cailloux Syrah is intensely complex and reveals layers of crunchy minerality and silky tannins that frame the elegant notions of cherry blossoms on the palate. Ending with a lingering and sophisticated finish, the wine continues to reveal its subtleties, expressing umami and flavorful characteristics. This wine, which turns out to be another excellent bottle from the Cayuse team, challenges me not to put my hands on the glass. I can't ... 859 cases produced.

Antony Mueller - August 13, 2020
Maturity: 2020-2038

 

Vinous: 95 + / 100

Brilliant ruby red. Very complex aromas, focused on the terroir, of raspberry, red licorice, smoked meat, pepper and rose petal. Intense, tasty and concentrated; quite penetrating and young like the 2016 bottling, showing little easy sweetness despite its tremendous intensity and depth of flavor. Not a thick wine, but remarkably juicy. A very structured version of this bottle, which needs time to harmonize, mellow and develop. As salty as it is sweet, showing a salty note of olive tapenade. This Syrah will rely more on its firm tannic backbone than on its acidity for its energy. The finish is very long and authoritative, although a bit uncompromising today. Incidentally, Cayuse did not bottle Viognier in 2018, as Christophe Baron and Elizabeth Bourcier decided that the fruit did not live up to their usual standards.

Stephan Tanzer - September 2020
Maturity: 2023-2034
 

Jeb Dunnuck: 97/100

The only Syrah that includes a bit of Viognier, the 2017 Cailloux Vineyard Syrah (this is the same site used for the Viognier) is still a great representation of the vintage as well as the wines of Christophe Baron. Ruby / purple in color, with a rock bouquet of black raspberries, smoked game, black pepper and spring flowers, it has lots of classic Rocks funkiness and meaty notes, a medium to full body, a core of sweet fruit. and a big, big finale. It ranks among the two or three best wines of this vintage. It opens up nicely over time in the glass and shows well today, and it will definitely hold up for 15 years or more.

Jeb Dunnuck - April 15, 2020
Maturity: 2020 - 2036

 

Wine Spectator: 94/100

Structured and impeccably layered, with rich and expressive flavors of blueberry and raspberry, complemented by hints of licorice, bacon fat and crushed stone that accelerate to refined tannins. Drink now through 2030. 859 cases

T.F - November 15, 2020
Maturity: 2020 - 2030

 

James Suckling: 97/100

Lots of blackberry, tar and blueberry aromas with hints of dried earth. Full-bodied, tight and concentrated with intensity and flavor in the center of the palate. Fluffy and attractive at the end, but not overpowering. To drink or to keep.

James Suckling: June 1, 2020

Sale price

Regular price 142,00 €
( / )
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
Click here to be notified by email when Cayuse Cailloux 2017 (75 cl)
Syrah
USA
becomes available.

Product reviews

Promotion

Cayuse Cailloux 2017 (75 cl)
Syrah
U.S.A

Note moyenne des critiques : 96

Robert Parker: 96  Vinous: 95+  Dunnuck : 97  Wine Spectator : 94  Suckling : 97
 

Un vin intense, profond, structuré avec une belle minéralité ,des tanins soyeux et une incroyable complexité.
Fruits noirs, framboises mures, arômes floraux de rose, violette et lavande jaillissent du verre et sont accompagnés de saveurs de fumé, gibier, bacon, tapenade d'olive, réglisse, poivre et terre séchée.
Le vin est équilibré, très riche sans être trop puissant et présente une longue finale très attrayante.

A déguster autour d'un carré d'agneau au thym.

 

Robert Parker: 96/100 

Le 2017 Syrah Cailloux Vineyard débute généreux et encré dans le verre, avec des fruits noirs au cœur et des arômes floraux de violette et de lavande suivis d'un doux fumé avec des couches de tapenade d'olive et de framboise noire couverte de poussière. Corsé, le Cailloux Syrah est intensément complexe et révèle des couches de minéralité croquante et des tanins soyeux qui encadrent les élégantes notions de fleurs de cerisier en bouche. Se terminant par une finale persistante et sophistiquée, le vin continue de révéler ses subtilités, exprimant des caractéristiques umami et savoureuses. Ce vin, qui s'avère être une autre excellente bouteille de l'équipe Cayuse, me met au défi de ne pas poser mes mains sur le verre. Je ne peux pas... 859 caisses produites.

Antony Mueller - 13 Août 2020
Maturité : 2020-2038

 

Vinous : 95+/100

Rouge-rubis brillant. Arômes très complexes, axés sur le terroir, de framboise, de réglisse rouge, de viande fumée, de poivre et de pétale de rose. Intense, savoureux et concentré ; assez pénétrant et jeune à la manière de l'embouteillage 2016, montrant peu de douceur facile malgré sa formidable intensité et profondeur de saveur. Pas un vin épais mais remarquablement juteux. Une version très structurée de cette bouteille, qui a besoin de temps pour s'harmoniser, s'adoucir et se développer. Autant salin que doux, montrant une note saline de tapenade d'olive. Cette Syrah s'appuiera davantage sur sa colonne vertébrale tannique ferme que sur son acidité pour son énergie. La finale est très longue et autoritaire, bien qu'un peu intransigeante aujourd'hui. Incidemment, Cayuse n'a pas mis en bouteille de Viognier en 2018, Christophe Baron et Elizabeth Bourcier ayant décidé que le fruit n'était pas à la hauteur de leurs standards habituels.

Stephan Tanzer - Septembre 2020
Maturité : 2023-2034

Jeb Dunnuck : 97/100

La seule syrah qui comprend un peu de viognier, la syrah 2017 Cailloux Vineyard (c'est le même site que celui utilisé pour le viognier) est toujours une grande représentation du millésime ainsi que des vins de Christophe Baron. De couleur rubis/pourpre, avec un bouquet rock de framboises noires, de gibier fumé, de poivre noir et de fleurs printanières, il a beaucoup de funkiness classique de Rocks et des notes charnues, un corps moyen à plein, un noyau de fruits doux et une grande, grande finale. Il se classe parmi les deux ou trois meilleurs vins de ce millésime. Il s'ouvre joliment avec le temps dans le verre et se montre bien aujourd'hui, et il va certainement se maintenir pendant 15 ans ou plus.

Jeb Dunnuck - 15 Avril 2020
Maturité : 2020 - 2036

 

Wine Spectator : 94/100

Structuré et impeccablement étagé, avec des saveurs riches et expressives de myrtille et de framboise, agrémentées de notes de réglisse, de graisse de bacon et de pierre concassée qui s'accélèrent vers des tanins raffinés. À boire dès maintenant jusqu'en 2030. 859 caisses

T.F - 15 Novembre 2020
Maturité : 2020 - 2030

 

James Suckling : 97/100

Beaucoup d'arômes de mûre, de goudron et de myrtille avec des notes de terre séchée. Corsé, serré et concentré avec une intensité et une saveur au centre du palais. Pelucheux et attrayant à la fin, mais pas trop puissant. A boire ou à garder.

James Suckling : 1 Juin 2020

Prix réduit

Prix régulier 142,00 €
( / )
Taxes incluses. Frais d'expédition calculés lors du passage en caisse.
Cliquez ici pour être averti par email lorsque Cayuse Cailloux 2017 (75 cl)
Syrah
U.S.A
sera disponible.

Avis sur le produit